Theatre Ghosts

WE often hear strange and wonderful stories about theatre ghost and superstitions. And a lot of  us have put this down to figments of the imagination, well I am not to sure now. The other day I was working in one of Adelaide’s older venues. I had brought up a light on the desk and then wandered down to the stage to focus the lantern. So imagine my surprise when I near the lantern when it faded out. My first thought was that it had blown, or something electrical or electronic happened. So back to the lighting desk I went, interesting the desk was cleared . That channel was not up. Now the desk in question is quite old, it is a Strand M24, but I have never had this happen. Now people have mentioned that this particular theatre has a ghost. Maybe this was an act  of this “theatre ghost”. It seems to be common that older theatres seem to have ghosts, is it because we spend so many hours in these buildings and they take on a presence within our minds. Then when there is a quiet moment at 2am during a plotting session, you here the building settling into the old foundations, or indeed it is the ghost wandering backstage making sure all is well. Is this why there are so many theatre superstitions ,like not mentioning the scottish play and whistling backstage.

So tell me your favourite theatre or superstition.

2 thoughts on “Theatre Ghosts

  1. I do believe they are true I heard of a light blowing in the theatre in which I work and all the glass shattering into a million piece for no reason. Luckily the ghost and glass fragments are safe in a jar which is taped shut! 🙂

  2. I came across an old book (1920s or 30s, I believe) about superstition a few years ago, with a chapter just for theatre. In addition to no whistling and so on, there were superstitions that have now died out, like it being a really bad omen if someone in the orchestra was playing a yellow clarinet. I’ve never seen any coloured clarinets, but perhaps there was no market for them for this reason…
    Also, some elderly actors (these were actors who were elderly in the 1920s or 30s) would refuse to go on stage if the scenography had an ostrich in it.

Leave a Reply

