Audix i-5 – a review

audix i-5 microphone

I got my hands on one of these the other day for a gig that I was doing. It was in place of a Shure SM-57. Well I will not be going back to a Shure SM-57 again if I have the choice. This microphone suited my style of sound that I was trying to reach when i am mixing. The Audix i-5 is a dynamic cardioid mic. i-5 more gain, lot of mid range more definition compared to sm 57. you might have to change you mix setting slightly to accommodate the slightly different sound that this mics produces in comparison to a SM 57. In fact it seemed to me that I had a bit more headroom before I hit feedback. This is always welcome. This microphone is really versatile, at least as versatile as the SM57. People might be thinking this is a direct replacement for the SM 57, it is not. It does have a different sound, in fact it make the SM 57 sound a little tired and old. This does the job a lot better.It has a lot better sound that is more in tune with the digital era that we are in today.

The i-5 mic brings a very clear sound into your mix.  It gives a nice crisp sound when used on a snare drum. It has a better off axis response so bleed isn’t such a problem. It is virtually bullet proof, surviving the odd belt from drum sticks really well. This mic is very well built and feels solid and workman like in your hand, it feels tough and ready to work hard.  It does have a swivel head shell cover.

The I-5 does have a pronounced proximity effect and there is  bass boost when the sound source is close to the microphone. But this can be a benefit if used well. And it is not a chore to roll a bit of bottom end out channel. You will find that this mic is going to work well on guitar cabs as well. Basicly where you use to use an SM 57 you can now use the i-5 , and to my ear, with a better and cleaner result. I have not run scientific tests on this microphone. I have used it in the field at a lot of live gigs and every time I used it I was amazed at the result. I and the bands were pleased with the sound that I was achieving with this microphone. And if the band is happy I am happy. So do yourself a favour and audition one of these microphones the next time you are doing a gig. you will be surprised by the sound. You will find plenty of uses for this very versatile microphone, and you will find some  more useful information about this mic on Audix’s website.

Now for the figures and specifications of this microphone:

  • Transducer Type:               Dynamic
  • Frequency Response:          50 Hz – 16 kHz
  • Polar Pattern:                    Cardioid
  • Output Impedance:           150 ohms
  • Sensitivity:                        1.5 mV / Pa @ 1k
  • Capsule Technology:          VLM Type B
  • Off Axis Rejection:            > 23 dB
  • Maximum SPL:                  ≥ 140 dB
  • Power Requirements:        None
  • Connector:                       Switchcraft® male XLR connector
  • Polarity:                           Positive voltage on pin 2 relative to pin 3 of output XLR connector
  • Housing / Finish:                Die cast Zinc Alloy / Black E-coat
  • Weight:                            183 g / 6.5 ounces
  • Length:                            141.5 mm / 5.6 inches

Well I suggest you go and grab one of these mics and have a load of fun, bring the joy back into your mixing 🙂

I give this mic an 8 out of 10

Leave a Reply

